Golf Course

Arabella Overview

The Arabella golf course in South Africa is ranked by Compleat Golfer magazine as the number one golf course in the Western Cape. It is also featured in Golf Digest’s USA’s Top 60 courses outside of America in 2007.

Designed and built in 1999 by celebrated South African golf course architect Peter Matkovich, who is also credited with the design of Western Cape courses de Zalze and Steenberg, this classic parkland course has spectacular views across the Bot River lagoon and across the Kogelberg mountain range.

The pristine fairways are kikuyu, while the greens, which frequently receive high praise from professionals in the game, are Dominant Bent.

The golf course has been refined in the past six years with the addition of several bunkers and the revamp of the par-four 6th hold in order to rid it of its blind tee shot.

Awarded Five-Star Golf Experience for the first time in 2002, the course is complemented by a luxurious clubhouse with bar and halfway house, as well as a fully stocked pro shop and excellent practice area with two resident teaching professionals.

The Arabella Golf Club has been the annual home to the Nelson Mandela Invitational charity golf tournament from 2003, hosting the likes of Jack Nicklaus, Samuel L Jackson, Ronan Keating, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen, Tim Clark, Lee Westwood and Sam Torrance. These and other top names have made a valuable contribution to Gary Player’s initiative to raise funds for the Nelson Mandela Children’s Foundation and the Player Foundation.

There is no doubt that a round of golf here ranks with the best experiences anywhere in the world.


The Order of Merit

Arabella Golf Club Order Of Merit 2008
At each monthly meeting members (only) will be awarded points according to their position on the day. Points will be awarded to the top 10 positions with 10 points going to the winners 9 to second etc.At the end of the year the member with the most points will win the floating trophy,an engraved trophy to keep and a voucher to Arabella Pro Shop.  3 places will earn vouchers.

The aim of the order of merit is to encourage our members to play in all the Captains day competitions and to play with different members more frequently.
For the order of merit points, count outs will be done on the basis of lowest handicap places higher.



Member Jan Feb March April May June July August Sept Oct Nov Dec Total
Johannes Albertyn 10 10 20
Klaus Walther 5 6 11
Hans Jaeger 9 9
Brian Marshall 9 9
Michael Chambers 9 9
Thea Albertyn 9 9
Joe Doherty 8 8
Leonard Owens 8 8
Mike Taitz 8 8
Cathy Taitz 8 8
Stella Marshall 7 7
Alison Sheard 7 7
Bea Susijn 7 7
John Baxter 7 7
Dinesh Singh 6 6
Ted le Gresley 2 4 6
Kevin Sutcliffe 4 1 5
James de Vries 5 5
Almar Creighton 4 4
Ian Williams 4 4
Di Bates 3 3
Jenny Turner 3 3
Moira Garden 3 3
Norman Garden 3 3
Ian Bates 2 2
Andre van Duuren 2 2
Roy Scholtz 1 1
Wayne van Gessellen 1